/ Company

Celebrating the Industry’s Boldest Achievements: Announcing the 2023 Groundbreaker Awards

The construction industry crafts the communities we live in, shapes the cities we work in and builds the hospitals and schools we rely on. Construction creates opportunities for other industries to grow by erecting skyscrapers, digging underground railway systems and breaking ground on new neighborhoods. Construction creates hope for the future. These astonishing accomplishments happen every day and should not go unnoticed.

Procore’s annual customer awards program, The Groundbreaker Awards, showcases and celebrates 27 companies, projects and people behind our industry’s most significant achievements. Submissions are open now through May 26, 2023. Winning Groundbreakers will be highlighted at Procore’s in-person event, Groundbreak, this September, representing the industry’s undeniable commitment to building a world we can all be proud of.

What makes a groundbreaking submission? Last year, we received hundreds of remarkable submissions of projects that defined or helped improve their communities, initiatives to help overcome today’s major construction challenges and people working together to make a better future possible. The 2023 Groundbreaker Awards are here to acknowledge our customers’ most meaningful or impactful achievements in the construction industry.

“We applied to the Groundbreaker Awards to highlight the Capital Career and College Academy because they are doing incredible work help prepare high school students for a future career in architecture and construction,” said Crystal Harper, business development manager at Roebbelen Contracting, Inc. and winner of Excellence in Workforce Development in 2022. “It’s humbling to be able to spotlight the impact they are making.”

The Groundbreaker Awards Program recognizes excellence in construction across nine categories:

  • Excellence in Sustainability
  • Excellence in Innovation
  • Excellence in Safety
  • Excellence in Community
  • Excellence in Workforce Development
  • Groundbreaker of the Year (Individual Award)
  • General Contractor / Main Contractor / Head Contractor Project Excellence
  • Specialty Contractor / Subcontractor Project Excellence
  • Owner Project Excellence

Learn more about the details of each of these categories here.

Three finalists for each category will be announced in August and all winners will be officially recognized during Groundbreak in Chicago. Visit the Groundbreaker Awards website to learn more about the incredible prizes that come with receiving this recognition. Those interested in applying can also find category descriptions, submission requirements, key dates and full program details.
Take a few minutes and tell us your story. We want to hear how you break new ground and help shape the future of construction. Enter your submission today!